Presidential Proclamation Suspending the Entry of Foreign Nationals who have been present in Europe within the Schengen Area

Friday, March 13, 2020

On March 11, 2020, President Trump issued a Presidential Proclamation that suspends the entry into the U.S. of certain foreign nationals, who have been present within the Schengen Area in the 14 day period prior to their entry into the United States. For purposes of this proclamation, the Schengen Area comprises 26 European states: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

There are a very limited number of exceptions to this rule, including U.S. Permanent Residents and certain relatives of U.S. Citizens and Permanent Residents. The proclamation is effective at 11:59 p.m. eastern daylight time, March 13, 2020. For additional details please see the Presidential Proclamation at

Bushra Malik

Stay Informed

Join our email list >

Legal Services

Jump to Page