Canada Announces Travel Restrictions In an Effort to Slow COVID-19 Spread


In an attempt to reduce the spread of COVID-19, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has declared that travel to and from Canada will be limited at 12:01 a.m. EDT, beginning on March 18, 2020.

With few exceptions, the Canadian border will be closed to non-residents. The United States has been exempted from Canada's entry limits, as well as Canadian permanent residents, immediate family members of Canadian citizens, diplomats, and aircrews. Such border restrictions will not apply to commerce or trade, and that products will continue to flow in and out of the country.

Canadian citizens abroad have been advised to quickly return to Canada while they still can. Currently, the Canadian government will assist with covering the costs of getting them home, or covering their basic needs while waiting to return. Residents outside of Canada are encouraged to register for notifications from the Canadian government in case of an emergency abroad or a personal emergency at home. (

Those with COVID-19 symptoms will not be admitted into Canada. Passengers will be screened by officials before boarding a plane. Any traveler with signs of the virus will not be able to board a plane. If a passenger tests positive for COVID-19, they will be removed from the general processing of passengers and will be reported to public health officials immediately.

Trudeau announced additional flight restrictions that would also come into effect on Wednesday, with some international flights being diverted to Montreal, Toronto, Calgary or Vancouver for improved screening.  Dedicated Caribbean, Mexico, and US flights will still be able to land at their scheduled airports.

Amany Kasham

What's Trending

Follow us on social media

Jump to Page

By using this site, you agree to our updated Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use.