REAL ID-Compliance Date Extended to May 3, 2023

Friday, April 30, 2021

On April 27, 2021, Secretary of Homeland Security, Alejandro N. Mayorkas announced that the REAL ID full-enforcement deadline that was initially scheduled to take effect on October 1, 2021 has been extended to May 3, 2023. Once in effect, REAL ID-compliance will require every air traveler 18 years of age and older to present a REAL ID-compliant driver’s license or identification card, state-issued enhanced driver’s license, U.S. Passport, U.S. Passport Card, or other TSA-acceptable forms of identification at airport security checkpoints for domestic air travel. REAL ID-compliant identification will also be required for entrance into certain federal buildings. Report of this extension by the Department of Homeland Security, can be found here.

The REAL ID Act and related regulations cover all 50 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, and four of five U.S. Territories. To learn more about how to obtain a REAL ID-compliant driver’s license and identification card in your state or territory, or for more general information regarding the REAL ID, please utilize this resource from the Department of Homeland Security.

For additional information on REAL ID-compliance please contact any member of the Butzel Long Immigration Practice Group.

Yasmeen Farran
313.225.5303
farran@butzel.com

Linda Armstrong
313.983.7476
armstrong@butzel.com

Clara Mager
313.225.7077
mager@butzel.com

Reggie Pacis
313.983.6929
pacis@butzel.com

Bushra Malik
248.258.4470
malik@butzel.com

Amany Kasham
313.983.6916
kasham@butzel.com

He Xian
517.372.4449
xian@butzel.com

Stay Informed

Join our email list >

Legal Services

Jump to Page