Dennis A. Lienhardt

Dennis A. Lienhardt is an Associate attorney in Butzel Long’s Bloomfield Hills office. He concentrates his practice on complex commercial litigation.

Mr. Lienhardt received his law degree from Wayne State University Law School in 2016, where he received the Dean’s scholarship, the Bruce A. Miller endowed scholarship, and the Jason L. Honigman scholarship. While in law school, he served as the Editor-in-Chief of the Wayne Law Review and had his Note, “The Electoral College: An Analysis of Reform Proposals Through the Lens of Past Presidential Elections,” chosen for publication. Mr. Lienhardt also received special accolades for his oral advocacy skills in Moot Court, including being chosen to represent Wayne Law at the Tulane Sports Law Moot Court Invitational in New Orleans. He was a student attorney in the Criminal Appellate Practice Clinic and represented his classmates on the Student Board of Governors. He received the Bronze Key Certificate for academic achievement and the “Best Contract in First-Year Legal Writing” award. In an effort to gain experience before graduating law school, Mr. Lienhardt participated in multiple internships and clerkships with firms and institutions throughout Metro Detroit, including an internship in the Homicide Unit of the Wayne County Prosecutor’s Office.

Mr. Lienhardt received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and Criminal Justice from the University of Michigan – Dearborn. During this time there, he was recognized as a “UM-Dearborn Difference Maker,” a “UM-Dearborn Distinguished Student Leader,” and was elected student body president. In addition to the responsibilities that came with serving as student body president, Mr. Lienhardt, in conjunction with the university administration, established the first-ever “Student Judiciary” on campus to rule on violations of the student code of conduct.

Prior to joining Butzel Long, Mr. Lienhardt practiced at a nationally-recognized class action and commercial litigation firm.


  • Wayne State University Law School (J.D., 2016)
  • University of Michigan - Dearborn (B.A., 2013)


  • Michigan
  • United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
  • United States District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan
Jump to Page